Ultramagnetic MC's - Funk Your Head Up

14/05/2020


Second album for the group, and from the first track a more sombre tone is presented, than the first albums lively almost carefree vibe. Things seem a little more mean.

This overall feel may not have sat well with fans at the time, but me? I loved it... "Plucking Cards" the crashing classic well worn drum pattern, funky guitars and horn stabs are a heavy almost menacing backdrop for Keith's swipes toward other rappers. His flow sliding between the beats like butter.

The ominous funk of "Poppa Large" see's Keith step back a little from the first albums slightly more trend setting influences. Standard playa talk - but the flow is so silky and easy. Another Keith solo track etched in rap history.

The production is consistent and striking landing big blows throughout the course of the LP. We also see Keith distance himself from his brothers lyrically even further. Even when addressing some of the more typical fare for the times, Keith still shines.

A good solid listen, go Funk your head up!

© 2020 Daniel Ranger-Holt - All rights reserved

My Youtube Channel

My Twitter Channel

If you are a Kool Keith fan, and support what I am doing here, please feel free to possibly donate to my PayPal Thank you SO much!

In the grand tradition of Hip-Hop's unwritten laws, please don't steal my writing, aka bite my sh*t. If you would like to use any portion of my reviews please contact me via the above channels or at my personal email :) wingysvinylvlogs@gmail.com - Thank you

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started